Politics and religion reprisal…

12 12 2007

Mike Huckabee is starting to scare me. OK, for the record, lest any of you wonder, I’m a Mormon and have been for most of my life. I’m not exactly the standard of purity at this point in my life, I may fall under the category of Jack Mormon, but that doesn’t change what I believe. I like Mitt Romney. Not because he is LDS, he just happens to be, and I find a lot of common ground with him.

I like Rudy Giuliani a lot too. The problem with him is his scandals and the mistakes he’s made. I mean, he abused his privilege as mayor while hiding his mistress and recommended Bernard Kerik to be homeland security secretary among other things. He was a great mayor and a great leader but I’m not so sure he is what America needs at this point in its history. I’m just not sure if he can rise to the challenges before us.

The real reason I’m making this post is because Huckabee is really starting to look kooky, and here’s why.

The man is an ordained Baptist minister and had a congregation of over 400,000 before his political career. He has founded his life on his beliefs in Christ and the teachings of the bible as he understands them. He is a man who would say that character counts. He is a man who will defend what he believes. He is a man who lives by his religion and wears it on his sleeve and shares it liberally. The problem I am having is that his campaign and former church are reluctant to release much, if any of his sermons for public review. Does anyone else smell something stinky there?

I don’t believe for one second that he has anything unethical or scandalous to hide. I think the reason there may be some reluctance is because sometimes the Southern born-agains get a little carried away in their exuberance and from time to time his preachings likely contained things that can easily be used against him to make him look like an extremist wacko. If he said those things as a minister for Christ why can he not share them now as a presidential candidate? Why do they become such separate issues now that his life is in the public eye?

What really pisses me off is that, while he tries to hide his potential to look silly, he deflects the spotlight of scrutiny onto Mitt Romney by asking in the New York Times, “Don’t Mormons believe that Jesus and the devil are brothers?”.

The answer to that question is an entirely separate issue. I do find it to be an incredible opportunity to explain the Mormon understanding of our literal relationship to God as His children to the world. Most mainstream Christian churches contend that Mormons are not Christian because we believe that Christ and Lucifer are spirit brothers. I find that to be ridiculous and really just laugh when I hear a statement like that tossed out with the intention of making us seem like blasphemous heretics.

For some reason people just find it abhorrent to think that God might have created the spirit that became Satan. Was Lucifer not an angel in heaven before the fall? Could God not have created him as a spirit child as he did me, you and Christ? Did God not create all things? Where in the bible does it clarify this point of doctrine?

I’d like to hear Huckabee explain where Lucifer came from and who created him if he expects Romney to do the same. Is it really an issue at the end of the day? What it really is, is just another notch in the belt of sensationalism for Huckabee and the mainstream, fundamentalist Christian right to say that Mormons are a non-Christian cult.

For Huckabee to try and embarrass Romney rather than open his vault and share the words he preached from the heart, his core beliefs, the teachings that were supposed to be salvation to the souls of hundreds of thousands, is cowardly.

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 01 2008
calmerthanyouare

What’s you’re ‘campaign’?

Like

12 12 2007
johnnypeepers

I think Huckleberry is playing dirty pool. He continues to make these sly quips, the last being the Devil and Jesus statement. Huckleberry is a serious threat to Romney, but one that can be effectively removed with the right alliances. Although I do not normally use a person’s religion to malign them, he has injected the topic into the public dialogue. His views do not comport with one necessary for the highest elected office. Now, I am not Mormon, though I lived in Provo for some time, I have a lot of respect for the Romster. He talks a good game, but he is getting kicked right now. I want to vow allegiance to defeating the Huckleberry. After that, we may split ways. This is a matter of mutual benefit, and I hope to have your backing in my campaign.

Like

12 12 2007
slivermoon22

Thanks for sharing and many blessings, Sheree

Like

Leave a Reply

