African American, please!

5 09 2007

So, Black Enterprise magazine invited Eddie Griffin to do some stand-up at an event this week and dude gets cut short for doing what he was hired to do. I’m all for cleaning up our language and showing proper respect for all men, but when you hire Eddie Griffin what should you expect? The man has built his career on glorifying the more despicable aspects of ghetto life.

The thing I find funny in this article on the incident is the mention that the NAACP had a mock funeral for the N-word. All this symbolism over substance is one thing but the name itself, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, makes a reference that if I were to use in casual conversation would get me a world class beating. What about the United Negro College Fund? How about a funeral for all of the formerly accepted references? How sensitive do we need to be? Colored, black, negro, African American…what’s it gonna be?

I was born during the Civil Rights movement when the term ‘colored’ was on the outs and the term ‘negro’ was the accepted nomenclature. A generation later ‘negro’ was racist and ‘black’ was preferred. Now ‘black’ is somewhat tainted and we’re to use ‘African American’. Please, for the love of Rodney King, make up your damn minds so we can get back to Paris Hilton and Britney Spears.

Actions

Information

10 responses

11 01 2015
12 09 2007
calmerthanyouare

Hey James, I see 2 comments on this one from you. Are you really not seeing them?

Like

12 09 2007
James B.

I thought I had commented on this post. But I guess it didn’t go through. I think you’re dead on with your take on this one. They knew what they were getting w/Eddie Griffin. If they wanted clean, wholesome comedy they should have hired Bill Cosby. As for the names, the merry-go-round is getting old.

Like

6 09 2007
calmerthanyouare

You make great points blacksentinel, about having your culture and genealogical history erased essentially. It’s a very compelling issue to ponder. Even Native Americans are able to trace their ancestry despite their tragic history in this country. All I’m looking for is some nomenclature I don’t have to be careful of offending anyone with.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I had not considered many of the points you made.

Like

6 09 2007
girlsnap

Chinaman?

Like

6 09 2007
theblacksentinel

When I say why do YOU care, I mean anybody you just happen to be the one I am speaking to. I should have made it clear. Anyway, I probably wouldn’t walk around on eggshells simply because I would never in any way use White or whatever White people wanted to call themselves in a derogatory manner, so therefor they would never have to change their title. The problem is that we as a community (blacks) have such inner turmoil at having OUR collective identity stolen from us, that it is hard to find our place. We are of African descent yet try and find out from where or what tribe or any little tidbit. We can no longer speak our mother tongue and not by choice. We no longer have our religion and not by choice. See when Europeans IMMIGRATED (operative word) to America their descendants probably no longer speak their mother tongue by choice, no one beat it out of them. I understand this was a long time ago, but no one ever says this to adopted children, oh who cares where you came from, your with our family now. No need to search out your birth parents. It is in our very nature to want to know who we are, and what our purpose is. Heck that is what history and anthropology is all about. But, to have your history etc. hijacked by another group of people, you can’t begin to understand our angst. So that is the long sordid details of my passion for the issue of why blacks are so confused and misguided.

Like

13 10 2009
AC

You make good points. I think I’ll start a charity that sends African Americans back to Africa. No white folks allowed — after all, we’re fighting for equality here.

Like

6 09 2007
James B.

Good post. I agree that it was BS to shut Eddie Griffin down ’cause he used the N-word. It would be like hiring Paveratti (R.I.P.) to sing opera at a concert and then turning off his mike ’cause he wouldn’t rap on stage. You hire Eddie Griffin, you get that word thrown around a lot during the routine.

And the funny thing to me about caring what we’re called is that I’ve never known many fellow black folks to make a big deal of it. Negro begat Afro-American begat Black begat African-American begat Whatever Comes Next. Instead, I’d say the only people who’ve ever sweated our “titles” to me have been white folks.

Like

6 09 2007
calmerthanyouare

Nerves are sure on the surface when it comes to this topic. I’m just making observations. Don’t take my tongue-in-cheek nonsense personally. I find it interesting that the response is so heated. Me and the rest of the European-Americans are the ones who have to watch our asses as we speak to people of color.

If whites changed to European-American you say that you wouldn’t care. You may not, until you’re made to walk around on eggshells when it comes to the preferred terminology. Maybe you already feel that way. I’m merely making observations.

You want to know why I care? Am I not entitled to have opinions on the issues shaping my American culture? That’s why I care. Because this shit is making news and people are obviously raising hell about it. That’s why.

Like

6 09 2007
theblacksentinel

Why don’t you just stick with Black, that is internationally recognized. Why the hell do you care what we call ourselves, I sure wouldn’t care if whites decided to change it to European-American or something else. The reason we have to continue changing our title is because the minute we get one idiots decide to find a way to turn it into an insult, just like the way you are joking about all the names now, thus we have to shed it. Not to mention that this is one group of people who THINK they speak for all Blacks, African-Americans or whatever. How sensitive DO YOU think you need to be, obviously not very. A mock funeral for a word, what a joke, that won’t stop old Charlie and his family from sitting around the dinner table using it and it won’t stop Tyrone and his friends from calling each other that, so I guess it was just a show. I personally am still just trying to figure out why the hell you care. Go on now and get back to Britney, Paris or whoever.

Like

Leave a Reply

